Posted in NaPoWriMo'23

Dear Poem

Dear Poem,
Listen to me.
Listen to my thoughts,
repeatedly-
Until they find a way to reach you.
Believe me they are alive,
when they speak of you.
Be my strength that can,
condemn my weakness.
You are the voice,
that echoes in every dark hallway,
in every empty street,
and in all the vacant squares
of my hollow heartbeat.
You fill that void inside me,
that no man could ever complete.
You are healing me;
healing a broken heart,
painting my b&w life
with all the colours of rainbow.
You are the oxygen I need to survive.
Be my ventilator,
if I ever go down in life;
I would embrace death happily,
with you by my side.

~Navaparna

Day 12 of Na/GloPoWriMo 2023.

Prompt 12 source: https://www.napowrimo.net/day-eleven-11/
Now for another (optional) prompt from our archives. Today, I challenge you to write a poem that addresses itself or some aspect of its self (i.e., “Dear Poem,” or “what are my quatrains up to?”; “Couplet, come with me . . .”) This might seem a little “meta” at first, or even kind of cheesy. But it can be a great way of interrogating (or at least, asking polite questions) of your own writing process and the motivations you have for writing, and the motivations you ascribe to your readers.

I’ve tried voicing my thoughts and turning them into a poem. Some speak requests, some are praises, some are advice whereas some are merely asking them to listen to them. Oh it’s hard to convince both mind and heart, yet we need the ultimate satisfaction in the end. At least I need that. ‘Thoughts become words and words permanently stay with us.’ With every new thought, a poem can be formed. It’s beautiful to think how our mind works, the way we have the ability to fantasise, romanticise and dream about almost everything and much more beyond than everything that we can ever think of. Rupi Kaur is my favorite author till date, she has always been. Motivation, reassurance, most realistically, poetically ever written short poems are a great source of inspirational powers to me, and for all of us I hope. And another favorite author of mine- Noor Unnahar for her book “Yesterday I was the moon”. “Milk and Honey” by Rupi Kaur has healed half of my heart.


Author:

Hii! You are meeting a writer here. I am doing my bachelors currently and in 2 years I am going to graduate. Listening to music, watching psychological thrillers, writing and photography are among the list of things I am really passionate about! As a college student, life has been hectic so I barely get some free time to involve myself in hobbies and doing little things which makes me feel motivated and happy, although I do make some fun time from the busy schedule, enjoying, exploring and expressing within my personal space. And I'm very fond of aesthetic stuffs, may it be arranging the pinterest boards or my camera clicks... anything where beauty flows naturally spreading joy with a tint of delicacy, mystery, art and knowledge. Hunger for knowledge always had me pondering over infinite 'hows' and 'whys'... Much love for my readers<333

Leave a comment